Free Shipping on All Orders over $50! Use Code CRYSTALS for a discount at checkout

Astrology 101 | Astrology Charts & what Astrology Means

Sometimes I think that Astrology is speaking another language!

But it kind of is another's a language of the planets and stars, a language of the cosmos. It is up to those who are curious about astrology to learn this new language. 

Astrology is something I am interested in. It is a new topic that I am excited to dive into. I am hoping that this astrology 101 article can be the starting point of your journey into astrology. 

If the following information makes you curious about learning more about astrology, I encourage you to explore that. 

Welcome to Astrology 101

In the following article, we will be learning about:

  •  zodiac signs
  • what is a birth chart
  • aspects that make up a birth chart


It is important to note that we will be exploring Western Astrology today and not Vedic astrology.



A birth chart is also known as a natal chart. It is an astrological chart that is unique to you. The birth chart is calculated using the exact date, time, and location of your birth. With this information, your birth chart reflects  the exact location and position of the planets when you were born. This is why your chart is so unique to you. 


Birth Chart


Pick up line - alert!

The information we are most familiar with is the Sun Sign. You may be familiar with your Sun Sign. We each have a Sun sign, Moon Sign, & Rising Sign. 

The zodiac sign most people are familiar with is their Sun sign.  Your Sun sign is the zodiac sign that the Sun was located during the time of your birth. Your Moon sign, you may have guessed it, is the zodiac sign that the Moon was located at, during the time of your birth. Your Rising sign or Ascendant is the zodiac sign that was rising on the Eastern Horizon during the time of your birth.

Okay...but what does that even mean?




Sun Sign and Astrology

Your Sun Sign  - Your Unique Talents & Gifts, Your Potential, Your Purpose

Your Moon Sign - Your Inner Self, Emotional Needs

Your Rising Sign - How Others See You, “The Mask You Wear”




There are 12 zodiac signs. The 12 zodiac signs form a circle on the birth chart. Your birth chart will have a unique combination of these zodiac signs.

Some zodiac signs could show up a few times and others may not show up at all!

What does your birth chart reflect?


The 12 zodiac signs are:

  • Capricorn
  • Aquarius
  • Pisces
  • Aries
  • Taurus
  • Gemini
  • Cancer
  • Leo
  • Virgo
  • Libra
  • Scorpio
  • Sagittarius



Astrology meaning


Horoscope meaning



A birth chart is made up of 12 houses, 12 zodiac signs, and 11 planets.

The house is the area in life that the energy comes through.

The zodiac sign is how that energy is shown/comes through.

The planet is the type of energy.


What Planets are in a Birth Chart?


There are 11 planets that are used in Astrology (yes- we are including Pluto!)

Some of these planets move quicker than others. The Sun, Moon, Mars, Venus, and Mercury move quickly. The others take around 7  years or more to move through the zodiac. They could last for a generation. This is where things like the Age of Aquarius come from.


The planets in a birth chart are:

  • Sun
  • Moon
  • Mercury
  • Mars 
  • Saturn
  • Chiron
  • Neptune
  • Venus
  • Jupiter
  • Uranus
  • Pluto

Remember how I said each planet is the type of energy…


Each planet has a different type of energy that it is associated with. 

For example:

  • Sun - Self
  • Moon - Rules Emotions
  • Mercury - Communication
  • Mars - Passion
  • Saturn - Karma
  • Chiron - Wounded Healer
  • Neptune - Illusion
  • Venus - Love & Money
  • Jupiter - Luck 
  • Uranus - Rebellion
  • Pluto - Power


Sun self moon emotions

The 12 Houses Show the Area in Life Where This Energy Comes Through


12 houses of horoscope

The 12 Houses form a circle on the birth chart

  • 1st - House of Self. Your Ascendent or Rising Sign
  • 2nd - House of Possessions
  • 3rd - House of Communication
  • 4th - House of Family & Home
  • 5th - House of Pleasure
  • 6th - House of Health
  • 7th - House of Partnerships
  • 8th - House of Sex
  • 9th - House of Philosophy
  • 10th - House of Social Status
  • 11th - House of Friendships
  • 12th - House of Subconscious



I know the information is overwhelming. The language of the cosmos is new. New can be exciting. Take the time to go over your own birth chart with this new information. If you haven’t gotten a birth chart done, you should try it out! There are many free resources online to get your natal chart read.

Get your natal chart report and pull up this blog post. You will be dissecting your birth chart in no time!


Some of my favorite astrologers/accounts are: